Home Knee

Patient Story: Kittie from Des Moines, IA

  • Name: Kittie
  • Location: Des Moines, IA
  • Replacement Type: Knee (Left), Hip (Left), Hip (Right), Knee (Right)
  • Hobbies/Activities: Walking, Biking,

"Rode My Bike Across Iowa"

As the elder stateswoman of BMX racing in the United States (68-yrs-old), the debilitating pain of osteoarthritis impeded my ability to be as competitive as I could and wanted to be. My class is 56 & Over Women Cruiser. As I continue to age ever so gracefully, younger women continue to move up into my class. Currently, the next oldest female is but a mere 61. There were days that I had to alter my training because the pain and stiffness in my hips and knees due to arthritis was more than this body could take. It was not a matter of me stop racing, but rather a matter of curtailing the manner in which I prepared for competition. 

I endured pain 24/7 even though I was taking over the counter pain relievers. I was not willing to be on narcotic medications for an extended period of time, even though in the end, these were prescribed for a short period of time before my surgeries. The pain still existed even then. A saving grace for me was remaining physically fit riding my trike or hybrid bike on days that the pain was too great for me to actually practice on the race track to prepare for competition. This was also great preparation for my bike ride across Iowa. On days when I could not get outside to ride, I rode my hybrid, between 12-14 m/h on my trainer in my basement. Doing such helped to relieve the pain in my hips and knees while keeping me race ready.

Life after surgery, NO PAIN in my hips and knees! After hip replacement (December 2013 and February 2014), I began walking 5 days a week at the gym and riding my bike on the trainer in my basement 4 to 5 days a week. I still had pain and mobility issues with my knees. Once they were replaced (December 2014), I was back to training on my bike in my basement. I engage in TRX core fitness and strength training 4 days a week while walking 5 days a week. My class is 56 and over Women Cruisers. I completed my 29th, 30th and 31st. Rode my bike across Iowa in 2014, 2015, and 2016. BMX Accomplishments are 2014 – National #7 and Gold Cup Central US #1; 2015 – National #3 and Gold Cup Central US #1; and 2016 – National #5, Gold Cup South Central US #1 and Gold Cup North Central US #2.

Do not put off for years what you should take care of today! Dr. Nettrour told me that I should have come to him 2 years sooner. I spent 4 years researching the best orthopedic surgeon in the metro area before finding Dr. Nettrour. Because of my age, there were doctors, other than Dr. Nettrour, who did not support my continuing to race BMX bikes. Due to my dedication to good health and well-being, as well as BMX racing, Dr. Nettrour scheduled my surgeries as soon as possible. Hip rehab was a piece of cake. Knee rehab was more difficult, but due to my great physical condition before the surgeries, my physical therapist noted that I far exceeded the average patients time to return to normal. This was about the quality of my life.

109903-190320 DSUS